January 12th, 2009

Old Friend

Now That's What I Call Music

It was bound to happen sooner or later...

The 'Now That's What I Call Music' range of CDs has been going since 1983 and has spawned 71 compilations of Chart Hits. I had a number of the very early ones on cassette and vinyl (the last I got I think was #16 back in the late 80's when I was DJing parties, school discos, weddings and other events that wanted cheesy music).

Anyway, some bright spark - not content with churning out more compilations of current chart toppers - has decided to start reissuing the original series too. Or atleast they've just released "Now That's What I Call Music" - the very first compilation from 1983 - and I can imagine if it goes well they've got #2, #3 and so forth lined up to generate some extra cash.

So, what was the line-up for the first ever compilation. Well, funnily enough I'll tell you:

Disc 1
  1. Phil Collins - You Can't Hurry Love
  2. Duran Duran - Is There Something I Should Know
  3. UB40 - Red Red Wine
  4. Limahl - Only For Love
  5. Heaven 17 - Temptation
  6. K.C. & The Sunshine Band - Give It Up
  7. Malcolm McClaren - Double Dutch
  8. Bonnie Tyler - Total Eclipse Of The Heart
  9. Culture Club - Karma Chameleon
  10. Men Without Hats - The Safety Dance
  11. Kajagoogoo - Too Shy
  12. Mike Oldfield - Moonlight Shadow
  13. Men At Work - Down Under
  14. Rock Steady Crew - Hey You (Rock Steady Crew)
  15. Rod Stewart - Baby Jane
  16. Paul Young - Wherever I Lay My Hat

 Disc 2

  1. New Edition - Candy Girl
  2. Kajagoogoo - Big Apple
  3. Tina Turner - Let's Stay Together
  4. Human League - Fascination
  5. Howard Jones - New Song
  6. UB40 - Please Don't Make Me Cry
  7. Peabo Bryson & Roberta Flack - Tonight I Celebrate My Love
  8. Tracey Ullman - They Don't Know
  9. Will Powers - Kissing With Confidence
  10. Genesis - That's All
  11. The Cure - The Love Cats
  12. Simple Minds - Waterfront
  13. Madness - The Sun And The Rain
  14. Culture Club - Victims
You can buy it on Play.com for £11.99.