Angus Abranson (angusabranson) wrote,
Angus Abranson

Track-listings, etc, for new Neph CD

From Music Non-Stops latest newsletter:
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Mourning Sun ( Limited Edition ) £13.95
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM - Mourning Sun ( Standard Edition ) £11.95

With their first Brand New studio recordings in almost 15 years, The Fields Of The Nephilim truimphantly return with "Mourning Sun". This is instant classic Nephilim music ( no pseudo-hip experiments here ) : anything but an accidental stringing together of arbitrary songs it is a fascinating work of art, revealing encompassing complexity in its overall context. Their brand-new recording, "Mourning Sun" ( their first studio album since their legendary early '90's release "Elizium" ) is another haunting sonic journey which leads the listener into an uncharted world of mysteries and secrets that band mastermind Carl McCoy has been famous for in the past twenty years. "Mourning Sun" links spherical sonic images with driving rhythms, telling stories of a still uncharted future. "The lyrics of Mourning Sun are the words of today that give me a glimpse of tomorrow," explains McCoy, adding: "The whole thing is about looking forward as opposed to dwelling in the past".

To be able to fully concentrate on his ambitious work, McCoy retreated into total isolation, writing the album in a relatively short time. Based on the typical Nephilim sound, he worked on an evolution of his tried-and-tested stylistic devices and arrived at new artistic horizons. "Mourning Sun" is a progression of the previous Nephilim albums, from "Dawnrazor" through "Elizium" to "Zoon" he points out, "no comparison, only progression." He expresses himself in a total of seven epic numbers that live off their breathtaking density and haunting atmospheres. Tracks such as "Shroud ( Exordium )", "Requiem XIII-33 ( Le Veilleur Silencieux )" or the title track "Mourning Sun" ( with over 10 minutes playing time ) all stand in their own right, while at the same time complementing each other, blending into a complex whole. McCoy : "Every track has to be listened to in the context of the album."

Please note that the Limited Edition version of the new Fields Of The Nephilim album "Mourning Sun" comes complete with one Bonus track ( "In The Year 2525" ) plus a Bonus exclusive video track.
Limited CD / CD
01. Shroud ( Exordium ) ( 5:45 )
02. Straight To The Light ( 6:24 )
03. New Gold Dawn ( 7:58 )
04. Requiem XIII-33 ( Le Veilleur Silencieux ) ( 7:21 )
05. Xiberia (Seasons In The Ice Cage) ( 7:33 )
06. She ( 9:26 )
07. Mourning Sun ( 10:33 )

Bonus Tracks ( Only Available with Limited Edition ) :
08. In The Year 2525
09. Bonus Video Clip

To listen to sound samples from this release click
Record Label
Release Date
21st November 2005

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment